Fairview Fashion Show 2016

Hello everyone.

So i can finally relax a little because the Fairview show is done, but I only relaxed for like a day because we are started with embroidery for exams, yay i am actually really excited, i love learning new things.

okay, back to Fairview fashion show, as second years people expect so much from us but what some of you guys don’t know is that we did not have a full 1st year of fashion, in our 1st year we had to do photography, graphic design, fine art and fashion. And trust me when i say that we literally had 4 weeks of fashion last year. This year in January we had a 2 week workshop on how to use a sewing machine and how to sew. This was my very 1st time using a sewing machine and its an industrial machine.

The theme was flowers and we had to use print in our garments, for anyone who knows me very well, i am not a fan of floral prints and bright colours, so i got a bit nervous with the theme, but it all worked out in the end. i thought long and hard about what to use as inspiration and i felt in my spirit that i should look at what the Bible says about flowers, in fact God is the creator of nature, so why not? i came upon the scripture in Luke 12:27 that says “Consider how the wild flowers grow, yet i tell you not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed as beautifully as these”. There is something about this scripture that really spoke to me, that not even a King was dressed as beautifully as a wild flower.

I found a wild flower called Diphylleia Grayi, this is a white flower that turns translucent when its wet, the flowers petals is so delicate that moisture causes the affect. i decided to use white material with translucent material to portray the flower when its dry and when its wet. and printed the Diphylleia Grayi in silver on certain parts of my white fabric.

Because the Bible scripture speaks about the beauty of wild flowers i decided to use fresh wild flowers on my garment, i designed a cape with translucent material like a pocket so that i can throw fresh flowers inside it, and to also use fresh flowers in the accessories. I wanted my design to be simple and exquisite.

So here is my Storyboards

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Storyboard

 And here is my designs

13047931_10204783549428247_4133919325178284642_o
Front

 

 

13217307_10204783550068263_1460732409981662902_o
Back

 

 

I can honestly say i am so proud of my self and the other 13 students for pulling this off, i had so much fun, and learned so much in so little time. I don’t think any of us thought we would be able to do this, but look at us now.

I am currently busy with exams, and will post soon about my embroidery work that we busy with and it also involves screen printing again.

Follow me on

Instagram: yolandibarnardxx

Twitter: @yolandibarnardx

Snapchat: yolandibarnardx

lots of love x

 

 

One thought on “Fairview Fashion Show 2016

Leave a Reply

