Let’s talk FASHION/Student life

“You can never be overdressed or overeducated – Oscar Wilde”

What is Fashion?

Dictionary

  • a popular or the latest style of clothing, hair, decoration, or even behaviour.

stylesbyyolandi

  • its art, its a form of expression. its a way of saying who you are. its knowing who you are and having the confidence to be that person.

I have always loved fashion, but now that i am in my 3rd year already (can you believe it?) i have fallen even more in love with fashion and what it has to offer.  Its not just making a dress 1, 2, 3 and you done, there’s a whole process that involves in the making of a specific item. To name a few- designing the item, making the pattern, cutting out efficiently, sewing. And of course  the individual details that comes along with each process.

What i do at the Fashion Department at the University is not “naaldwerk” like my ouma knows how to do. We go into depth, don’t get me wrong if you know how to sew than thats great. I think the set of skills we develop is insane and i must say i am a fast learner which helps a lot.

Sleep… what is that? haha we work hard and the time we don’t work we are planning the next thing we are doing. Procrastination is something we are experts at, for example I am sitting here writing a blog post on procrastinating while I actually have so much work to do.

My favourite thing in fashion is styling, I love putting outfits together I also love the designing part. Sewing is cool unless you break your needle 3 times trying to put in boning, then no, not cool. I still remember the first time I broke a needle in class, I cried.

So after my 3 years I will get a degree in fashion design. Some people would say what are you going  to do with this degree and is it even important? Some people would say they can do exactly what we do without a degree, because the way they perform in fashion is what matters. I believe that if you have a passion for it and you work hard thats all that matters.

At the end of the day I do what I love and I LOVE what I do!

16992461_10206637188488065_5078044666503756552_o

Follow me on Instagram- @stylesbyyolandixx

x

2 thoughts on “Let’s talk FASHION/Student life

  1. Awesome read!!! Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh you’re such a fashionista! Watch this space 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close