A day in the life of a fashion design student | #2

“Believe in yourself and be prepared to work hard” – Stella McCartney.

fadndf.jpg
Photographed by: Marc Hervé

Continuing my series of a day in the life of a fashion design student (check previous post here). I’m so excited, and exhausted at the same time, but *reads quote in my own blog post*. Student life is hard, but being a fashion design student is next level, you see it might sound like great fun, which it is and the fact that I don’t write 7 to 8 exams is even better, but having class Monday to Friday from 8:30 to 4;00 is tough. There is no such things as holidays.

So what have I been working on? Well my two Mohair designs. so as 3rd year students we get the opportunity to work with Mohair South Africa where you get sponsored by them if you make the cut, and well i am very blessed to say that i made it and I’m very excited to be working with Mohair fibres. SO yes I am knitting, machine knitting thank goodness, and well so far so good, the machine and thread only failed me like 300 times and had to redo about 20 times but I’m keeping it together.

Take a look at these knitting machines and the absolutely beautiful mohair that I’m working with, haha and yes its black and white. obviously.

20449069_10207696995462577_2122732190882101726_o.jpg

And again ( I don’t learn ) decided that I am going to embellish my 4th outfit… Hand embellishing each bead one by one, it took me forever and then I ran out of beads and the shop ran out of beads ( because I bought it all ) and then finally I finished it, and I must say I love it so much, definitely worth it.

sneak peek

Just a little motivation, life is hard y’all and following your dreams is not as easy as it seems. Trust me some days I wake up and feel like what? Do I even need this degree? can’t I just be a celebrity now? Harry Styles why don’t you just come marry me, so that I can be a rich housewife? yeah no.  I will never quit, like my best friend will say:”mamma didn’t raise a quitter”.  Don’t let anything knock you down or frustrate you to the point of quitting, don’t let fear stand in your way! My friend if you believed in Santa Clause for 8 years, you can believe in yourself for 5 minutes.

So even when my lecture tells me to unpick the sleeves and redo it the correct way ( I was trying to be clever and winged it ) then smile and do it, because at the end of the day you must do what you have to do so that you can do what you want to.

Harry Styles, I’m still waiting for you tho.

Have a great day guys x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close