Dyeing With Flowers

“After woman, flowers are the most divine creations”- Christian Dior

DSC_0728 copy.jpg

SO bored of your closet and want to try something new? well you are reading the right blog post! About a week ago i experimented with some natural dyeing techniques, it was part of a project at varsity where I spoke about the power of colour. ( Check it out )

So I ended up dyeing with flowers! first of all, did you know that the textile industry waste up to 40,000 to 50,000 tons of water by dyeing T-shirts, these water waste gets dumped into rivers and streams. 1 T-shirt that weighs 200 grams uses 20 litres of water to dye. So by using natural and organic products like flowers to dye a shirt or cloth will still use water, but the water can be thrown back into your garden, whereas the other water waste releases toxins into the rivers and streams.

How is this possible? You know to dye with flowers without using chemicals? keep reading….

1st things first, get some flowers. I picked some random ones out of the garden, well because i did not thing it was going to work (to be honest).

After I chose my flowers I placed them in a jar, and freezed it over night.

The next day i took a plain white T-shirt and randomly placed the flowers everywhere on the shirt, and then rolled it into a ball and secured it with elastics.

Take a pot and put some water in it just enough so that the T- shirt is covered with water and keep it hot, do not let it boil. Leave the shirt in the pot for just over an hour.

17883736_10206932301185698_6958339947789705648_n

After an hour, let it cool down. And when you open it, you will be left with something like this.

We’ll there you have it, it honestly blew my mind. Next time I will place the flowers in a better way to create a pretty textile. I would also recommend if you are going to try this, to use bright colour flowers, or else you will be left with brown and dull stains, unless thats the look you are going for.

Let me know what you think? And if you are going to try it let me know how it comes out.

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram

lots of love x

Leave a comment